It’s starting to look like a house

I’ve been putting up picture posts with mad abandon, with very little writing, because I’ve been at the house of fire every day painting. This has reminded me of two things: 1) I really, really need to figure out how to get out of the house for at least a few hours a day, because being an adult human-type creature has been absolutely wonderful; and 2) I suck at painting when I am trying to hurry. This last is pretty annoying to me because I used to paint for paychecks and having lost the skill is bugging the crap out of me. I had to do WAY too much sanding and re-painting today.

Tomorrow we’re going over there to begin the powerwashing of the house and basement. Then we scrape, prime, and paint.

Inside, there are still weeks of work to do – we still don’t have cabinetry, countertops, appliances, etc. And I ticked off the contractor by coming in and asking him to remove something that I had originally OKed. Mea culpa, and I do feel terrible about it, but I realized that I couldn’t get a big refrigerator into the space that we used to have a stove in, so a big piece of one corner had to come down. I’m really going to try to NOT change my mind mid-stream again.

DSC_0047

I’m standing where the kitchen will be, looking toward the front door. One of the things that really changed when we tore down burned walls and then didn’t put all of them back up again (basically turning the house from a typical mid-50s cottage with small rooms to a much more open and hip house) is that you literally can’t stand anywhere in the entire house and not be looking out at least one window, and even further than that to outdoor space. It makes the whole house feel so happy and sunny.

Note corgi-hair-colored tile floor. I am SO EXCITED to get back into the house. We’re still shooting for September 1!

6 thoughts on “It’s starting to look like a house

  1. it looks great! progress, WOO-HOO!!!

    I hate painting, I get very frustrated when I slip up or mess something up. And masking? freaking torture! πŸ˜› You used to do it for pay? Is there NOTHING you can’t do, J??? πŸ˜€

  2. How exciting!! πŸ™‚ We bought a house last summer & it was an older house with little sectioned off rooms. We knocked down a couple of walls to open it up a bit and it made a HUGE difference.
    What do you think of Paul Owens (the ‘original dog whisperer’) ?? I am watching one of his DVDs right now.
    Got Aloff’s canine body language photographic guide for my birthday; everyone made fun of me, but I am so excited to dive into it. πŸ˜€
    Love it when you post pics–your dogs are such DOGS. Diet? Happiness? Good camera? Whatever it is, they are a pleasure to look at.
    Be well~Bethany

  3. Just hope you paid the contractor for having to go back and change it πŸ™‚

    I don’t find painting nearly as bad as finishing the walls to begin with. drywall dust everywhere is no fun at all. Of course that could just be because I’m horrible at mudding.

Leave a Reply

