Evil, evil, evil ticks! And poor Zoob :(

My one-year-old, Zuzu, has been feverish since last Wednesday. Over the weekend the fever got higher and her mood got worse; I was up all night with her last night listening to that horrible thin whine that says “I just feel like absolute CRAP.”

At the last diaper change of the night all of a sudden there it was – a giant red ring extending from the top of her leg up onto her belly. I handed her off to Doug at 8 am with instructions to call the pediatrician ASAP and get her in immediately, but I was pretty sure I knew what was coming.

Yep. Lyme disease. And thank God we caught it early, while it’s still very treatable. She probably got a deer tick on her ten days ago when we were working on the house. I’m astounded that I didn’t see it – this is a kid who runs around naked all day long and who gets baths and diaper changes constantly.

She’s on Amoxicillin for the next three weeks.

And I am getting some guinea hens.  Before I have a complete nervous breakdown.

19 thoughts on “Evil, evil, evil ticks! And poor Zoob :(

  1. It’s just a sign of how epidemic the disease is where I am. We also go to church in the middle of the highest-infected town in the country, at least last time I checked (Ipswich, MA). I don’t know anyone around here who hasn’t either had it themselves or had it in their family.

  2. Hey, Joanna…I could use some advice from you 😦 I sent an email the other day, but I don’t know if you got it or not. I’m at a pretty big crossroads and I could use your wisdom.

  3. A friend and his girlfriend went to a party in MA in a wooded area. They both have it now, as well as another friend and her daughter that were at the same party. So far everyone has been treated and only the girlfriend’s seems to want to stick around. it’s really bad around here. Good luck and lots of healing thoughts!

  4. I was just going to say it, but Kate beat me to it.

    Ok, so I gripe about Medford but that’s only in relation to the rest of Oregon. We have it good compared to everyone east of about our state line (!)

    Though parts of Utah and New Mexico and Montana are ok. Montana only between June and September though.

  5. guinea hens are well worth it! EVEN THOUGH they are extremely extremely extremely NOISY!! 🙂 I have four hens….and they nonstop chatter….I can’t wait til my new batch comes in!!

    • Wow that map is fascinating. And yes, as I suspected heartworm is FAR more prevalent here than lyme, which is why my dogs are on preventative year round. We have a lot of flea problems too, although thankfully I haven’t had many issues. (knock on wood)

  6. Dude! You need to walk around with a guinea hen entourage, you AND yours… sheesh, whenever I start longing to move to the East, you post about another family member coming down with Lyme and it sets me straight. It looks like the risk here is pretty low, which is good because ticks skeeve me out ten times more than fleas do. Blech! Thanks for the linkie-doo, now I’ve gotta go read about something else I need to know and that will probably make me more obsessive & paranoid than I already am 😛

    Poor, sweet, lovely Zuzu!!! I will pray for a speedy recovery for her. I’ll say it again: you deserve a vacation that includes warm beaches and cold umbrella drinks. NO TICKS ALLOWED!

  7. Garrett: I grew up with guineas and I LOVE them. I just have to hope my neighbors really like buckwheat ;).

  8. So glad you caught it so quick. I live in one of the highest infected areas in NY for Lyme. When we first bought this house (we are in the woods) I was thinking of getting some guinea hens but not sure I want to deal with them in winter as I do not have any out buildings at this time. Let me know how hard or easy the husbandry is on the hens – I am very interested.

    • I had them growing up and they’re very easy. Just loud. They need gamebird or turkey food but they will roost in the trees and don’t even need much shelter. When we get ours I will have to keep their wing feathers clipped because they can fly shockingly high and will easily escape from a fence, unlike a chicken or turkey. The keets are harder to keep alive; they’re very vulnerable to cold and wet and the hens are not great mothers. If you have a hen clutching, it’s a good idea to move her into a secure area and keep the family contained until the keets are well feathered. They hatch out obscene numbers of eggs – 20 was average, from what I remember.

  9. That is so scary and I hope the antibiotics are all she needs.

    We see so much Lyme around here these days. It’s really not good.

Leave a Reply

