it never rains but it… hits you over the freakin’ head with a bucket

Doug is in the hospital and they just confirmed appendicitis. He has surgery in the morning.

On the one hand, this is good news. He has been in incredible pain all day and the alternatives to a bad appendix are substantially more icky.

On the other hand, we’ve got two kids stranded in Vermont and two at home here and no good way to make the twain meet. One of my sisters offered to help me make the suicide run to VT on Friday; we’ll go up and grab them and drive straight back down. My mom will keep the two littles in that case. But no plans are firm yet. 

I will try to make this a diverting and funny post later. Right now I feel like I caught an axe handle between the eyes. 

I’m just thankful it’s so relatively easy and fixable.

8 thoughts on “it never rains but it… hits you over the freakin’ head with a bucket

  1. oh no! A friend just had hers out, in an emergency surgery. At least you got a LITTLE warning? Hers was like a bad c-section surgery, done right as she got into the hospital, with a HUGE gnarly scar.

    It’ll be OK, and all work out though. At least it’s coming out now, so he won’t have to worry about it on a family vacation, or something? I mean… at least you’re not in say, Mexico and needing it removed! *G*

    Thinking of ya’ll this morn!

  2. Oh no! I’m sorry Doug! Feel better soon. What a sucktastic experience. (And Joanna, sorry about texting you, didn’t realize you were at the hospital!) I’m glad you have family nearby to help.

    As someone who has had abdominal surgery, my best advice is: take the good drugs! And if they don’t work, as for something stronger.

  3. Oh my goodness. I’m wishing Doug a quick recovery, and I hope all other issues are easily resolved for you (kids, puppies, house and insurance).

  4. wishing, hoping, praying for everything to resolve in the least complicated way possible for you all. And for Doug to sail through his recovery — the fact that he didn’t require an emergency appendectomy bodes well for him, hopefully they can get it out laparoscopically? I hope someone’s around to stock your fridge with some good homemade chicken soup. (or whatever makes him feel well when he’s sick) ::HUGS::

  5. Geeeez, you guys need a break! Sending speedy recovery and healing energy to both Doug and you.
    We’re pretty close to VT border so depending on where everyone is let me know if there’s anyway I can help.

Leave a Reply

