Sometime tonight…

This blog will go over 50,000 total visitors.

I started writing in August of last year because I desperately needed an outlet and a sense of permanency; I was exhausted from writing the same things over and over on message boards. I wanted a place where my writing was “home.” I thought I might get five people who read it with me.

The first day I had more than one visitor to the blog I involuntarily looked over my shoulder–it was like having another person in the room.

The day that I had the most visits, almost a thousand (!) was Christmas Day. The day after we found Clue. The day I couldn’t stop crying because I was so happy, and so many of you cried with me. I am SO glad that was the busiest day, because every time I look at my blog stats I remember the impossible can’t-sleep-can’t-stop-grinning overwhelming high of that day. I still feel impossibly blessed that she’s gently snoring over on the couch next to me.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. Thank you for being my friends, for loving my dogs, for thinking about my kids, for arguing with my posts, for leaving comments, for making me feel like I am part of a huge community of people who think it’s normal to drink a couple of dog hairs with their cup of coffee. 

Just… thank you. That’s all.

8 thoughts on “Sometime tonight…

  1. Thank you for writing! I discovered your blog when Clue went missing, and my heart broke for you and your family. Then I discovered you had a lot of sensible thoughts that fit in with my own, or inspired me to think and helped me connect the gaps in my own knowledge. I look forward to your posts, with a healthy dose of insight and logic. So than you for sharing your thoughts!

  2. I read a lot of blogs. I read yours a lot. Every time you post something new I come and check it out. You have great things to say, facts to stand behind your opinions, and you are a good writer. That is why *I* come back.
    Oh, and because your dogs, your rats, and even your kid are cute!

  3. I always learned something from every post you wrote in the Board Which Must Not Be Named – I’m so glad you have this blog, because I know there is so much more I can learn from you. So thank you for sharing your thoughts with us!

  4. I wish you hadn’t posted the dwarf dogs RIGHT before the nationals… you should post a reminder after we’re all home, so we have the brains to actually read them. I’m so swamped right now, I’ve not even had a chance to do more than glance. No brain, NONE ATM.

    I’m really glad you’re willing you share your candid opinion, and education. While not everyone agrees with what you say, it IS nice you lay it all out there, and are an exceptionally skilled debater, pulling both sides, and doing a good job at full education, and not just biased education which is too common- esp online.

    One request whenever you can- would you be willing to do something on early spay and neuter, unless you already have. It’s a topic I’m very interested in (Pros, and cons), and there’s SO much conflicting, and very biased information out there. I’ve yet to find any well-balanced info on the topic, but I think it’s important to have it laid out for people who’re interested in avoiding, or doing it, esp performance people. (Not aimed at anyone, but something I myself am interested in since I do keep, and work rescued dogs, and will in the future)

    Thanks Joanna! If only you could make it to the nationals. You should make the trip 😉 heehee

  5. I’m so glad you decided to do this, Joanna. I read everything you post and am both amused and enlightened. You definitely add to the blogosphere!

  6. I’m with Mary…. people drink coffee WITHOUT dog hair?? What?!?!? And here all this time (7+ years now, in Corgi’s) I thought it was common place! LOL

    And yes, aren’t blogs great… a place you can put out your own ideas and opinions and if people don’t like em, they don’t have to look at em (or comment on em) 😉

Leave a Reply

