a not-good update

I KNOW you all need the story, and I have not been able to tell it because of very limited Internet and we need the phone every second. The very short story is that the house is worse than originally thought and we are homeless for the next few months (not homeless-homeless; we’re going to be staying with friends, but the house and about 90% of contents are going to be declared totalled).

I need every good thought and prayer you’ve got. Doug just got a call from the kennel where the dogs are being boarded. Clue got out at 6:30 am, she was hit by a car, and she ran. Nobody can find her. They’ve been searching for hours.

That is ALL I know. Those three sentences. Don’t know how it happened, why, how severe the hit looked to be, anything. They were/are at a VERY good kennel so the circumstances are a total mystery.

We are going up there as soon as someone arrives to take care of the kids. Our hotel is about 1.5 hours from the kennel and it’s going to be dark in less than four hours. It’s below freezing already, will be in the low 20s tonight, and it’s going to snow. I’m trying not to panic but none of this is good.

I am using every suggestion that people gave for Jessie (the lost Cardi from last week). I am bringing the PJs I wore last night and we’ll leave them in a crate.

Clue is VERY smart and she’s not a panicky dog; she’s a “party Cardi.” She will come to people, and she would go back to the kennel; it would be very unlike her to bolt and not come back. So the fact that she hasn’t is making me very worried.

I will try to update tonight. Right now we know so little that I don’t think we need help or more people. I need to get up there and see what’s going on and try to find her before I will know our needs. So for now, just pray.

11 thoughts on “a not-good update

  1. Joanna, I’m so sorry this is all happening — and I’m thinking strong thoughts for your girl. Another suggestion is to take with you a dog she likes while you are walking in the area. The second dog may help find her or she may call out to or come to her kennel mate. Also, get the posters up where children will see them. Kids find dogs.

  2. OMG, Joanna, I’m so sorry to hear this. Prayers and positive thoughts coming your way. It worked for Jessie and Kerri, so keep your chin up and don’t give up. Jessie was out for 16 days and was found…there is always hope! Come home safe, Clue!

    Please keep us posted as you can.

    Hugs,
    Sherilyn

  3. Oh no, how can things get WORSE?

    I agree with Penni’s suggestion of taking out a friend dog. Often they will come to another dog better than to a person when they are afraid.

    I really hope that she isn’t badly hurt.

  4. If there is any way we can help get the news out, please let us know. I’d be happy to make phone calls to try and get a search team out, and I’m sure other long-distance Cardi people would be willing to also.

    Please try the media, as esp after the house fire, and with the kids locals will be more than thrilled to help out a pre-Christmas cause. Maybe you have a professional lost dog search team locally? If she’s alive, there’s still time to find her.

    I can’t even begin to imagine what you’re going through, but my heart aches for you. Bad things always seem to happen in waves, but I can’t believe these horrible things have happened at all.

    If you’d like any help, please let us know. We may be too far to help in person, but we can type, and make phone calls.

Leave a Reply

