Clumber Spaniels: UK standard changes

My lovely, lovely Clumbers… one of my favorite breeds of all time. Thankfully, unless I am reading it wrong, the changes to this standard (as opposed to the hack job on the Peke standard) are minimal and actually positive. Just half of one sentence, changing

Any departure from the foregoing points should be considered a fault and the seriousness with which the fault should be regarded should be in exact proportion to its degree and its effect upon the health and welfare of the dog.

to

Any departure from the foregoing points should be considered a fault and the seriousness with which the fault should be regarded should be in exact proportion to its degree and its effect upon the health and welfare of the dog, and on the dog’s ability to perform its traditional work.

I’m still waiting on the promised revisions to Chow, Bulldog, St. Bernard, Neapolitan Mastiff, Dogue de Bordeaux, and Shar Pei. If anyone in the UK is reading this and can give me an update – or has a better comparison of the old and new Clumber standards (I was using the UK’s published standard via a cached copy of their webpage, so if technology failed me I could be wrong), please let me know.

2 thoughts on “Clumber Spaniels: UK standard changes

  1. I am truly on the warpath over the chow standard proposed changes. The chow community in the US for the most part has a “not in my backyard” attitude which is going to be the downfall of our breed if people dont’ wake up.

    The main element the UK KC has eliminated from the proposed Chow standard is the presence of the words “stilted gait”. In Chows this straighter rear existed for thousands of years and is no the cause of health problems….poor breeding skills and genetic ignorance is the cause of any rear health problems we have. The stilted rear is one of 2 key elements o our breed type as well….the other being the blue/black tongue.

    I’m so happy your beautiful Clumbers were not affected negatively by the standard changes. I am keeping a detailed account of all UK KC Standard revision activity at my forum http://worldchow.com if you want to stop in and read

Leave a Reply

