Glasses half full

You may have noticed the recent addition of spectacles to Meri’s cutie little face. And YES, I am piggybacking kid-related posts! It’s my blog and I’ll be repetitive and also repeat things and sometimes do things again!

Anyway, we knew her eyesight was deteriorating as much as a year ago, but her eye doctor suggested holding off on glasses as long as possible to try to keep her eyes working to focus. Typically, as soon as you correct the vision the kid’s eyes relax and then the nearsightedness increases much more rapidly. I know this to be true personally, since I got glasses for the first time in fourth grade and now have a diopter that requires special-order contact lenses and means that I often trip over 100-lb dogs because they look like a blob that resembles the blob that is the shadow of the entertainment center. And Doug is even worse–if he doesn’t have his glasses on, he’ll politely wish the refrigerator good morning.

So we were pleased to make it to sixth grade with her, but she was starting to get headaches and we knew it was time.

Here is where it becomes a current events story.

We’ve been talking about the presidential election a LOT. It’s great for homeschooling–checks and balances have been a huge topic of conversation lately. We are pretty diverse in my family; I’m a registered Independent and was urging people to “Re-elect Gore in 2004!” when my sister was working for a Republican on the House floor. I have three siblings that are ethnically Spanish (and unbiasedly AWESOME), so we tend to lean pretty left on immigration, but we lean pretty right on taxes and programs. Yada yada. All this to say that I feel like we’ve been swimming in election season for the last month.

My kids’ preferences for president I’ll leave private, but they were head over heels in LOVE with Sarah Palin. They adore that she has a bunch of kids, that she has a special-needs baby, that she hunts MOOSE by using WOLVES while BREASTFEEDING in a HELICOPTER (at least that’s what they’re pretty sure she does). I am absolutely not as cool as Sarah Palin and I admit it.

So when the time came to pick glasses, Meri wanted Sarah Palin’s glasses. And, gosh darn it, we found a pair that is eerily close. They are very cute, and they do indeed turn everyone who wears them into Sarah Palin.

And to prove it, my kids organized a photo shoot. They did this without my knowledge and the little buggers are so smart that they figured out how to load it into the card reader on the computer. I came upstairs to this:

palin1

Contemplative Sarah Palin.

palin2

Mischievous Sarah Palin.

read2

Sarah Palin catches up on a little reading.

read1

Sarah Palin is caught reading a potentially witchcraft-positive book and reacts with surprise.

beach-look

Sarah Palin goes to San Tropez for some R&R.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

pig

A GIANT PIG!

Oh, sorry, did I startle you?

One thought on “Glasses half full

Leave a Reply

